June 21, 2023

What Are the 3 Unforgivable Sins in the Bible?

by SARAH in Christian Ethics and Moral Guidance0 Comments

According to the Bible, everyone is a sinner from birth. Human beings are inherently depraved and driven by evil impulses, which are believed to be inherited from Adam. For this reason, the Bible tells us that we are, indeed, children of wrath. The three horrific sins that cannot be forgiven include murder, blasphemy, and adultery. If you commit one of these sins, you will be condemned to hell for eternity. Let’s discuss these sins in detail below.


Murder is a heinous crime that deals with the act of unlawful killing of a human being that destroys their innocent lives. The act of murder, whether it be through accident or intent, is punishable by the fifth commandment. The person who commits murder and those who actively participate in the murder are guilty of a sin that pleads with God for vengeance. However, sooner or later, if you sincerely repent to God, change for good, and follow His commandments, you will eventually find redemption through Him.


Adultery is the act of having sexual intercourse with someone other than your spouse. It is a sin that destroys marriages, leading to divorce and family abandonment. Adultery is forbidden in the seventh commandment: “You shall not commit adultery.” This means that marriage should be treated with the utmost intimacy and sacredness, for God will judge the adulterer and the sexually immoral. The Bible says that committing adultery is punishable by death. As Leviticus (20:10-12) says, “If a man commits adultery with another man’s wife, even with the wife of his neighbor, both the adulterer and adulteress must be put to death.”  


Blasphemy is the act of making a derogatory statement about God or attacking Him verbally or indirectly. You will never be forgiven if you demonstrate no reverence for God by committing blasphemy. But it’s possible to receive His forgiveness if you show Him that you are willing to change, ask for forgiveness, and bring glory to Him.

In the Bible, there are many examples of blasphemy. In the book of Leviticus, a man was killed for blaspheming God. Similarly, in the book of Mark, a woman was brought before Jesus for speaking against Him. The Book of Revelation says that those who blaspheme God will be thrown into the lake of fire. So, to evade this fate, you should not use God’s name in vain, speak against Jesus or His teachings, or deny the existence of God, among blaspheme acts. 

What Are the Seven Deadly Sins?

Although many of us are familiar with the seven deadly sins, we don’t fully understand why they are considered deadly. According to Roman Catholic theology, they are labeled as such as they are the root cause of other sins. These deadly sins are typically ordered as pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth. Each will be discussed in detail below.


Pride pertains to having an excessively high opinion of oneself. Being arrogant and thinking that you are better than others is a sin. Pride is considered a deadly sin because it leads to other sins, such as envy, greed, and lust.


In the Bible, the book of Proverbs says, “The love of money is the root of all kinds of evil.” This is because greed is the excessive desire for money, power, and possessions, which leads to corruption, crime, selfishness, and a lack of concern for others. 


Lust is an intense desire for sexual pleasure, leading to a lack of self-control, adultery, and other forms of sexual sin, such as pornography addiction. Lustful thoughts can also lead us astray from God’s path.


Envy is the feeling of jealousy towards someone who has something you want but can’t acquire. This feeling often leads to hatred and resentment, which leads to violence.


Gluttony is the excessive consumption of food or drink. This sin is considered deadly as it results in selfishness in sharing blessings with the poor or those who are needy. In the Bible, God commands us to take care of our bodies because they are the temples of the Holy Spirit. When we overindulge in food and drink, we are not also taking care of the temple of the Holy Spirit.


Wrath signifies uncontrolled anger. This is a deadly sin because it breeds hatred, lack of self-control, and violence, which leads to an inability to forgive others. In the Bible, God emphasizes that we must forgive others because we have been forgiven. When we are angry and refuse to forgive, we are not living in obedience to God’s commands.


Sloth means laziness or a lack of effort. This is considered a deadly sin as it leads to idleness, a lack of productivity, concern for others, and a lack of self-care. In the Bible, we are told not to be lazy or give excuses for serving God, especially when attending the Sabbath day.

How Do I Ask For Forgiveness From God if I Have Sinned?

If you have sinned, the first step is to confess your sins to God. This means that you need to acknowledge your wrongdoings and ask for forgiveness. The second step is to repent of your sins and serve Him with all your heart and soul. This means that you need to turn away from your sinful ways and live a life that is pleasing to God. Once you do it, you can ask God for forgiveness, and He will forgive you.

Remember that God is a very forgiving divine who wants us to live holy lives. However, this is only possible if we commit to never repeating our sins and do our best to live according to His word. Although we might stumble and fall many times, we must rest in God’s promise that there will always be hope as long as we are willing to change our ways, make an effort to be a better person, and share kindness with others.

Bottom Line

Sin is part of human existence that keeps us from having a close relationship with God. Thankfully, Jesus arrived to close that chasm, as He wants us to live a holy life that pleases Him. If you have committed unforgivable cardinal sins, know that you can come to God with a repentant heart. He will forgive you if you turn away from your sinful ways and live according to His teachings. As Galatians 5:22-23 states, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things, there is no law.”


Sarah Goodwin

A passionate Christian and Bible enthusiast, I find joy in delving deep into Scripture and sharing its timeless wisdom with my readers. Through words, I aspire to illuminate the profound lessons the Bible offers, hoping to inspire faith and purpose in every heart. Join me on a journey of biblical exploration and spiritual growth.Enter your text here...

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}